You might find some stories in your timeline that you want to delete or hide. Unknown to many, these actions can also affect the timeline of your friends. Know the difference between the two before you make that move.
Deleting a story
When you delete a story from your timeline, it will be removed in your timeline and the entire Facebook. Consequently, it is also removed from your friend’s timeline.
Hiding a story
When you hide a story from your timeline, it will be hidden from your timeline but the story still exists elsewhere on Facebook. Your story will still be visible in other places on the social network such as News feed or search. It is still accessible to the audience they were shared with.
Follow these simple steps to delete or hide a story:
- Go to your timeline and look for the story that you want to remove.
- Click the pencil icon at the right side of the story. The icon can be found at the upper right portion of the story beside the star icon.
- From the dropdown menu, press Delete or Hide from Timeline.