Facebook lets you keep in touch with friends and send messages in many ways: by posting on their timeline, sending them a private message, or chatting with them.
The messages which you send are contained in a message or conversation thread. This thread includes all your conversation- from the first message to all the replies from the sender and recipient.
When you no longer want to see a particular sent message, you can delete this message without removing the whole conversation thread. Follow these simple and easy steps on how to delete a particular message without deleting the whole conversation thread on Facebook.
These steps are applicable on private, chat and group messages.
How to Delete Facebook Messages Individually
- Go to Messages located at the left sidebar of your Facebook page. You may also click the Messages icon on the top left portion of your Facebook page.
- A window containing your most recent messages will appear. Open the conversation containing the particular message you want to delete.
- Click the Actions button. This can be found beside the magnifying glass icon at the top right portion of your message. A dropdown menu will appear, select Delete Messages. Delete Messages” />
- Choose the particular message you want to delete by using the checkbox. Click Delete.
Things you need to know:
- Once you delete a copy of the message from your inbox, this will permanently remove the selected message from the conversation thread. You cannot undo this actionnor retrieve a deleted message.
- Deleting a copy of the message from your inbox will not delete the message from the recipient’s inbox.
- Sent messages cannot be unsent neither deleted from the recipient’s inbox. They may receive your message as an email notification depending on their notification settings.
- You may also choose to archive your conversation. While deleting will permanently delete the message from your inbox, archiving it will just hide the message.