Facebook allows users to create groups based on common ideas, interests, and locales. You can either join a group with permission from the group admin or be added by a contact who is already a member. Unfortunately, you may find a Facebook group uninteresting or some of the group posts irrelevant.
Furthermore, sometimes we may find it annoying when some member adds us to a Facebook group without first informing us. The best solution: Leave the group. Here’s an easy tutorial on how to leave a group on Facebook via desktop and mobile.
Steps (via desktop):
- Access your group by clicking its name. You may find it at the left pane of your homepage.
- Click the gear icon at the right portion of your group page. This can be found just beside the Notifications tab.
- From the dropdown menu, choose Leave group.
Steps (via mobile):
- Access your group by clicking its name.
- Locate the Info tab. This is usually found below the group profile pics.
- Scroll down to the bottom of the Info tab, click Leave group.
Things you need to know:
- You can leave a Facebook group anytime you wish.
- Other members of the group will not receive a notification if you leave the group.
- The group will be deleted from your group list. Consequently, your name will also be removed from the member list of the group.
- You can no longer access the group’s news stories in your News feed and get notifications from the group.
- Even if you have viewed a group post while you were still a part of the group, other members will no longer know when you’ve seen a group post.
- Once you leave a group, other members can’t add you unless you explicitly request to be re-added.