Twitter is an online social networking site that allows users to interact with friends, family, business contacts, and even celebrities using tweets. Tweets are up to 140- character messages that describe your current status.
Whether you want to make new friends, keep in touch with your family, know the latest gossip about your favorite celebrity, be up to date about the news, or promote your business online, Twitter is a fun online tool.
Once you create an account on Twitter, you can start following other users and see their tweets in your Twitter feed. Other users can also follow you to read your tweets. Users have the option to set their profiles public or private. You can set your Twitter profile private to protect your tweets from being accessed by unwanted followers. Just follow these simple steps:
How to Make Your Twitter Account Private
- Log in to your Twitter account.
- Click the gear icon on the upper right side of the screen. You may also click Edit Profile on your profile page.Select Settings link option on the left sidebar.
- Click the Account tab.
- Check the Protect my tweets box on the Tweet Privacy section.
- Click Save Changes.
Things you need to know:
- Protected tweets are only accessible to followers you approved.
- These tweets cannot be searched via Google or Twitter search.
- Other users need to make a request to follow you. You need to manually approve their request so they can view your tweets.
- Your tweets can not be retweeted or shared to others.
- You will not be able to send replies to users who are not following you as they will not be able to view your tweets. You have to give them permission to follow you.
- You can only share permanent links of your tweets to approved followers.
- You may set your Twitter profile public in the future. All previously protected tweets will be available to the public.
- If your Twitter profile was set public before, all the tweets you generated before making it private will remain searchable and available to the public. Only tweets posted after you updated your settings will be protected.