With all the changes happening on Facebook from time to time, it is necessary to review your privacy settings on a regular basis as some of your information might be exposed to others. Checking how your timeline appears to others is an easy way to do this. Learn how to view what your Facebook timeline looks like to your contacts and the public by following these easy steps.
Steps (via Timeline):
- Access your timeline by clicking your name located on the upper left portion of your homepage.
- Click the gear symbol. This can be found on right portion of your Timeline, just below your cover photo. From the dropdown menu, click View as.
- You will be able to view how your timeline appears to the public. You can also generate a preview of what your timeline looks like to a specific contact. To do this, type in the contact’s name into the field and press enter.
- You can exit the preview page by simply clicking the X-mark in the View as tool or by leaving your Timeline and navigating other pages on Facebook. Your settings will be reverted back to your view.
Steps (via Privacy shortcut)
- Go to the Privacy shortcut at the left side of the gear icon. It is located at upper right portion of your homepage.
- From the dropdown menu, select Who can see my stuff.
- Under What do other people see on my timeline, select View as.
- You will be able to see how your timeline appears to the public.
- You may also view it as a specific person by typing the name or email address of the contact.
Things you need to know:
- The posts you hide from your timeline will still be seen in news feed, search and other places on Facebook.
- The View As tool will not be able to show whether people can interact on your timeline via posts, comments or likes.
- Public refers to any Facebook user who is not your contact.